Men’s National Team – Bears

Frequently Asked Questions

Eligibility requirements (for squad consideration)

– Minimum of 2 years continuous (minimum 10 months each year) residency in Finland or Finnish citizenship by birth or by passport. N.B. ICC eligibility minimum 3 years permanent residence before you can officially represent Finland.

– Achieve or show continuous progression towards the minimum 1500 metres squad target in the YOYO IETL1 bleep test.

– Able to contribute financially towards the national squad activities (player cost contribution varies each year depending on the volume of squad activities).

Ideally, players will be able to achieve the benchmark of attending around 80% of the Bears squad training sessions and matches, plus all the Official Training Weekend camps at Eerikkilä.


Team Trials

– The coaching team will arrange a date for team trials, at least once a year. This date will be notified to all clubs and be available to view on the FCA website, at least 6 weeks prior to the trial date. Additionally individual player invites may be sent at any time.

– General fitness, agility, stamina and cricketing skills will be assessed

– NT Head Coach/Manager will confirm acceptance into the National Squad

– All new members will be required to sign a player agreement regarding commitment to the Finnish Bears values, maintenance and improvement of skills and fitness and professional conduct

– Bears 2022 player agreement HERE

And, if you think you have all it takes, then do get in touch – all contact details on our CF contacts page

With selection comes privileges

  • Pride and privilege of representing Finland
  • Subsidized training facilities and free coaching
  • Kerava National Cricket Ground access within an organized framework 
  • Subsidized strength and conditioning training
  • Subsidized professional ICC coaching
  • Subsidized training kit to be used during team training and events only
  • Access to sponsorship funding for team activity costs
  • Potential scholarships for some members who show extra-ordinary commitment and skills development.

With selection comes responsibilities

  • By signing the Player Agreement following your selection, you are understanding and commitment to responsibilities and privileges outlined in this guideline.
  • Maintain regular training attendance. Fitness test/training sessions are mandatory for all members of the squad. If you do not achieve the squad targets, then you must be able to show cinsistent progress towards making the mark.
  • Maintain basic fitness level (1500 metres YOYO test, 3 minutes plank test) and actively work on injury prevention or rehabilitation , as outlined by the squad S&C or your doctor/physio.
  • Commit to a role as assigned by the team leadership group 
  • Commit to sponsorship and fundraising criteria activities including school visits, public relation events and junior coaching or mentoring.
  • Respect towards team-mates and the leadership group.
  • Treat official team kit and equipment with respect.

Captain and Vice-Captains 2023

Skipper since the 2017 season, Nathan Collins and his two new vice-captains Amjad Sher and Aravind Kumar Mohan are looking forward to another season of international representative cricket in 2023. The season will include a T20 Nordic Cup event in Copenhagen in May, a new ECI (European Cricket International) Ten10 series in Rome versus hosts Italy & Austria, then the Ten10 European Cricket Championship at the Cartama Oval, Malaga Spain in Group D from 5th to 8th October where the Bears will come up against an Ireland XI, Austria, Hungary and Turkey for a place in Championship week for the group winner. The summer season will be followed by regular winter training at the magnificent Eerikkilä Sports Academy, all in preparation for the ICC T20 Regional Qualifiers, which will be played June-August 2024.

National Selection Committee from 2022-

All Finnish Bears squad selections are made by Head Coach/Head Selector Matthew Jenkinson, Bears skipper Nathan Collins and Bowling Coach Gerard Brady.

Current Extended National Squad, as of August 2023

Full Squad Players

• Nathan COLLINS (capt.)*
• Rizwan ALI
• Hariharan DANDAPANI
• Md Belayet KHAN
• Parveen KUMAR
• Sapan MEHTA

• Aravind Kumar MOHAN (vc)
• Jordan O’BRIEN
• Vanraaj PADHAAL
• Muhammad Zia Ur REHMAN
• Nicholas SALONEN
• Jonathan SCAMANS
• Amjad SHER (vc)
• Sumit Pratap SINGH
• Mahesh TAMBE

Development Squad Players

• Adnan AHMAD
• Intikhab ALAM
• Matias BRASIER
• Abdul Rauf HAJI
• Muhammed Abul HASNAT
• Junaid KHAN

• Areeb Abdul QUADIR
• Avashesh KUMAR
• Farrukh ZEB