Record number of teams register for summer season

A total of 54 teams were registered by 23 clubs to play in Cricket Finland’s open competitions. The inaugural women’s league-format competition will see at least three teams compete for the first Women’s Ten10 Finnish Championship. All eight Finnish Premier League clubs granted league licenses.

The club licensing and league registration process for 2023 has finished. General League Licenses were granted to 23 clubs; a net gain of two compared to 2022. Southern Stars CC has decided not to apply for licensing while Ekenäs CC, Kuopio CC, and PlayCricket Suomi will join the summer season competitions as new clubs.

Cricket Finland Twenty20 League

Twenty20 will see three divisions in addition to the Finnish Premier League. Eight-team double round-robins with Page playoff system finals will be played in the FPL and National League Divisions 1–2. National League Division 3 has been divided to two pools of five and six teams that will play double round-robins and common extended Page playoff system finals. A total of 22 clubs registered 36 teams to the format.

Finnish Premier LeagueNational League Division 1National League Division 2National League Division 3ANational League Division 3B
Helsinki TitansTreCC AmperesTampere Eagles CCEmpire CC (2)Shaurya CC (2)
Empire LionsOtaniemi ChallengersNepal CCGreater Helsinki CC (2)Vantaa CC (2)
SKK RapidsAWCC Storm RidersSaimaa SealsFinCricket Club (2)Nordic Warriors SC (2)
Greater Helsinki MarkhorsNWSC WarriorsFPC FalconsArctic Wolves CC (2)Ekenäs CC
BTCC ThundercatsTurun PaloOtaniemen Krikettikerho (2)Kuopio CCClub ’71 Krikettiseura (2)
Gymkhana GladiatorsShaurya CCClub ’71 KrikettiseuraHelsinki Gymkhana CC (2)The J-Team (2)
Vantaa LegendsHelsinki CC (2)SKK (2)
J-Team JaguarsFinCricket ClubBengal Tigers CC (2)
Cricket Finland One-Day League

One-Day (40 overs) will be played in two pools of five and six teams, each pool completing a single round-robin. Pool winners and runners-up will play cross-pool semi-finals. Ten clubs registered eleven teams to the format.

One-Day AOne-Day B
FinCricket ClubTurku United CC
Helsinki Gymkhana CCStadin ja Keravan Krikettiseura
Greater Helsinki CCNordic Warriors SC
Vantaa CCThe J Team
Stadin ja Keravan KrikettiseuraKuopio CC
Helsinki CC
Cricket Finland Ten10 League

Ten10 open will comprise a single round-robin completed by the end of July and Page playoff system finals played during the Week of Finnish Championships in the first weekend of August in Lahti. Cricket Finland has participated in all editions of the multi-sports event since its launch in 2016.

Ten10 League
Bengal Tigers CC
Greater Helsinki CC
Helsinki CC
Stadin ja Keravan Krikettiseura
Empire CC
Otaniemen Krikettikerho
Finnish Pakistani Club
Women’s Competition

The inaugural women’s league-format competition has thus far garnered registrations from three clubs, and doors are still open for late entries. A modified Ten10 league will see the first Women’s Ten10 Championship awarded in Lahti during the Week of Finnish Championships.

Women’s Competition
PlayCricket Suomi
Stadin ja Keravan Krikettiseura
Empire CC
League Licensing

The J Team, who were promoted to the Finnish Premier League as winners of National League Division 1, were granted their first Finnish Premier League License. In addition to the reigning champions, Helsinki CC, the other clubs retaining their spots at the top level of Finnish cricket, Empire CC, Stadin ja Keravan Krikettiseura, Greater Helsinki CC, Helsinki Gymkhana CC, Vantaa CC, and Bengal Tigers CC, renewed their FPL Licenses that place stricter requirements on the clubs and guide their activities to be commensurate with their position at the top of domestic cricket.

Further information: Tuomas Tiihonen, Technical Director, +358 40 768 4258,