Finland and Belgium to host ICC 2024 Men’s T20 WC Europe Sub-Regional Qualifier events next summer

16.12.2021 10.30

International Cricket Council, ICC, has confirmed that ICC 2024 Men’s T20 WC Europe Sub-Regional Qualifiers are being organised in Finland and Belgium. Finland will host Qualifier A and B and Belgium Qualifier C. The Qualifiers in Finland are organised in 10.-20.7. (Qualifier A) and in 22.7.-1.8.2022 (Qualifier B).

The qualifiers are divided into two groups: Finland is playing in Qualifier A, Group 1 with Italy, Sweden, Greece, and Croatia. The countries playing in second group are Romania, Isle of Man, Cyprus, Turkey, and Serbia. Qualifier B, Group 1 has countries Guernsey, Austria, Luxemburg, Bulgaria, and Slovenia. Norway, France, Czech, Estonia, and Switzerland will play in Qualifier B, Group 2.

T20 format is one of the cricket’s most popular and fastest growing match formats. One T20 game lasts about 3 hours.

“We are very proud to host the qualifiers. Preparations have taken place for a few years now together with host cities of Kerava and Vantaa and we really look forward to organising these events next summer as planned. This is a unique opportunity to see this level of international cricket in Finland”, says Andrew Armitage, National Development Director of Cricket Finland.

”The Bears were naturally disappointed when last summer’s World Cup Qualifiers were cancelled, but in its place the T20I series with Sweden and the ECC event in Spain gave us the opportunity to measure ourselves against some of the best players in Europe. We are more motivated than ever before and keen to show what we are capable of next summer”, commented Bears Head Coach Matthew Jenkinson.

For further information:

Andrew Armitage, National Development Director, Cricket Finland,